University of Malta

Janet Mifsud

SAB Member

Professor Janet Mifsud, is a member of the Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Malta. Her area of expertise is in the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs used in chronic neurological disorders especially epilepsy, investigating patterns of drug use and misuse, neurotoxicology and bioethical issues.

She is a Fulbright Scholar and is involved in several EU wide research projects. She was formerly Vice-President (Europe) International Bureau for Epilepsy, is presently a member of the ILAE/IBE Joint Task Force Epilepsy Advocacy Europe and has also participated in several international epilepsy related projects. She has been chosen several times by the European Commission to contribute as external expert evaluator and is a national expert on the scientific Pharmacokinetics Working Group (PKWP) for the EU European Medicines Agency.

She sits on several National Committees such as the Malta Foundation for Social Well Being and was also board member of the Malta Council for Science and Technology. She has published extensively in her area of expertise.

Bioasis Technologies, Inc.

Deborah Rathjen

SAB Member

Deborah Rathjen, B.Sc. (Hons), Ph.D., MAICD, FTSE, is the previous chief executive officer and managing director at Bionomics. Dr. Rathjen joined Bionomics in 2000 from Peptech Limited, where she was general manager of business development and licensing. She was a co-inventor of Peptech’s TNF technology and leader of the company’s successful defense of its key TNF patents against a legal challenge by BASF.

Dr. Rathjen has significant experience in company building and financing, mergers and acquisitions, therapeutic product research and development, business development, licensing and commercialization. Dr. Rathjen has been recognized internationally with awards and honors including the 2004 AusBiotech President’s Medal, 2006 Flinders University Distinguished Alumni Award, 2009 BioSingapore Asia Pacific Biotechnology Woman Entrepreneur of the Year, 2009 Regional Finalist Ernst & Young – Entrepreneur of the Year and 2014 Woman Executive of the Year BioPharm Industry Awards. In 2015 Dr. Rathjen was included in the top 50 most influential Australian businesswomen by The Australian.

Dr. Rathjen received her doctor of philosophy degree in immunology from Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia, and her bachelor of science degree in immunology from Flinders University in Adelaide, Australia.